The Owner Of The Pride Of Mumbai

cafe mondegar.jpg

The other day I visited a cafe, the famous Cafe Mondegar in Mumbai. After having a light breakfast, I slipped out while saying my customary Thank You to everyone. I said the same words to an old man sitting tight in the corner and we had a short conversation.

Who are you saying uncle? I am not an uncle?

Sorry, Thank you brother.

Do you know me?

No brother.

I am the owner of this place.

These words rang a bell in my mind and it sliced my heart. I immediately asked him whether I could sit next to him for a brief chat. He agreed and I started talking to Rusi Yazdegardi, the owner of the pride of Mumbai—Cafe Mondegar.

It’s among the first and most iconic restaurant and bars in Mumbai, India. It’s the first restaurant in Mumbai to house a jukebox. The restaurant is a popular landmark and touristic attraction of Mumbai. Famous Indian cartoonist and painter Mario Miranda painted murals. It’s such a beautiful place to be.

What do you know about this place?

Not much brother.

He started telling the story since inception. I was just listening like a bag of potato sitting in the corner. He told me how it all started in the 1932 by his father; who was wealthy and affluent Irani Zoroastrian man. Mumbai was flooded with Irani cafes in early 20th century until the South Indian cafe raided the city. He has worked quite hard to make this cafe a great success. As per him, mostly all the affluent people of the city has visited his cafe—from underworld dons to Bollywood superstars. Even if you go there today, there is always a line like a python. Getting a table can take hours on weekends and he knows so much of the city’s history!

After chatting more than an hour, we had to part ways. He shared his gratitude and shared mine. I gave my autograph book to him.

Thank you bother for this marvelous space without which life would have been a little less meaningful.

That’s one of them most beautiful comment I have got till date, son. God bless you. Visit again.

Thank you very much!

